The Good, The Meh, The Not So Much

They must have changed their algorithm at Instagram, because I used to put up random snapshots and get likes from a lot of non-followers and my follower list grew slowly but surely. Then one day, things changed. Now I hardly get a like from anyone but my followers, which is not a bad thing of course, but if one wants her photos to be seen by a wider audience, that’s not going to cut it.

Instagram is a game of numbers. The more followers you have, the higher you are on the algorithm and the more people see your photos. However, I’m not willing to play the “get 10,000 followers instantly” game. I want people to actually like what I do. And since I don’t have 10,000 followers or even 200, then it’s not likely that I’m going to get new followers anytime soon, well, except for the ones who are playing the “get 10,000 followers instantly” game. I get a few of them, but they unfollow me pretty quickly if I don’t follow them back. I know that’s the game, but I’m not interested. Maybe I should be.

As I mentioned in a previous post, I started a 365 challenge on April 1 and I think it’s going pretty well. Some photos are good, others not so much. To experiment and see what works, what doesn’t, and to stretch my boundaries is why I’m doing the challenge in the first place, so I accept the good with the not so much.

I’ve never been good at being a beginner. After reading an article by Amy Clover on perfectionism — check out her website Strong Inside Out — I realized that I’ve always thought that you were either good at something or not. If I wasn’t good when I first tried something, I would quit, assuming I would never be good at it so why bother.

I also based my self-worth on whether or not I was good at something right away. Obviously, since I quit before I could get good, my self-worth has suffered quite a bit. My self-worth has also been affected by the number of likes, comments, and followers I got or more often, didn’t get. Basing your self-worth on external validation is a losing battle. It’s about time to validate my own damn self, right?

I’m sticking with this blog and my photography because I enjoy it, whether anyone sees it or not. I’m trying my hand at allowing myself to be a beginner and maybe one day I’ll get better at it. Maybe one day, I’ll be good at it. I’m “doing it different”. That’s my mantra and I’m sticking to it.

 The Good

perfection
Day two: Panning
Day 23: Can't live without
Day 23: Can’t live without
perfection-12
Day 12: Shoes

The Meh

#instagram #instapic #daily #signs #sign #stroll #coloradosprings
Dday 13: White
Day 7: morning. #365project #photochallenge
Day 7: Morning
Day 19: Four things #instagram #buddha #mirrorimage
Day 19: Four things

The Not So Much

Day 14: My favorite place.
Day 14: My favorite place
perfection-2
Day 3: Smell
perfection-9
Day 17: Fresh
Leave a Reply

