Who Am I Going To Be?

img_9952

This is me. Well, the shadow me. Behind the shadow me is a jumble of wood pieces. Think of them as pieces of my past that I’ve stacked up until I can figure out what to do with them. They can be useful. Each piece of wood is a piece of my life that’s vital to who I’ve become, yet they’re also pieces I can choose to leave behind or save to be used at a future date. Or I can put them all on the fire and be done with them forever.

I’ve learned to be on the lookout for synchronicity. Today, I came across the same idea twice within a couple of hours and when that happens, I feel like the Universe is trying to tell me something. When the Universe speaks, I listen.

Garance Doré is one of my favorite people. She’s a blogger who came to New York by way of Corsica ten years ago and built a fabulous career as an illustrator, street photographer, blogger, and now podcaster and author. While I came to her for her street photography and illustrations, I stay with her for her blog posts that are so intimate they make you feel as if you’re a treasured confidante.

Garance and her fiancée have recently moved to Los Angeles, because like me, she’s done a lot of good work in New York, but wants the opportunity to grow in a different way. Like anyone who relocates, her goals are to find a home, some new friends, a way of working between LA and New York, “and well, find who I am going to be here.”

I found that an interesting thing to say, but when Marie Forleo said virtually the same thing, “Who do you want to become in 2017?” in her Setting Goals video, I knew I should pay attention.

Like Garance, I’ll be moving soon. I’ve been in the same city for twenty years and while I’ve grown immensely here, it’s time to try something new. I need new opportunities to expand and grow. However, I never thought of it as a chance to become a new person. I can be whoever I want to be and no one will be the wiser (except my sister and she won’t tell) .

So, who do I want to be when I get to Colorado? Who will I become when the fog of who I am now clears? I’ll let you know when I find out.

img_9826

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Who Am I Going To Be?

Leave a Reply

