Paint Confuses Me

I’ve never painted before. It makes me nervous. We’re taking a photo, posterizing it, then doing a paint by the numbers thing. Easy enough, but when I can’t envision where it’s going or how it’s going to turn into anything resembling the photo, I get nervous.

I suppose you could say I’m a realist. I like for things to look exactly like they’re supposed to. But that gets boring. And frustrating. And did I mention boring? I feel like I need to branch out and get a little more abstract. Not play by the rules. Not make it look perfect. I want to break free of the perfectionist constraints I have around my creativity. The desire for perfection has stunted my life. If I can’t be the best, then I don’t try at all. I’m trying this time, no matter how scared I am. Wish me luck.
FullSizeRender-6

Leave a Reply

